One, two, three.

Last week, I recorded a video on my computer of me reading a letter that I wrote to my Aunt Marlene. I emailed the video to my Uncle for him to play it to her. For the past three plus years, my Aunt has been battling cancer, and she’s put up a hell of a fight. But it is now her final few days here on Earth with us, and then cancer, once again, will get the best of my family. Multiple myeloma in this case. I am sure the majority of you reading this have been affected in your own personal ways by this awful disease. I am not at all writing this post with the intention for sympathy, I am, however, writing it for the following three reasons.

One. As a reminder to tell those that you love, you love them. Go out of your way to see or spend time with them or write them a heartfelt note or call them—whatever you can do, take a minute to make their day. Every chance you get. You never know how quickly things can change.

Two. As a tribute to my Aunt Marlene. She is an inspiration to me in so many ways—her relentless work ethic, her courage to take risks, her independent nature, her tell-it-like-it-is personality, her spirituality, her warm and loving way with everyone she meets, her dedication to all she puts her heart into. Marlene radiates life and beauty from the inside-out. Even during her cancer battle, she’s been a teacher and a leader. Even in her roughest times, she’s shown strength and humor. Love you, Aunt Mar.

Three. To remind people to live. It’s that simple. I know it may not always seem that easy, but whatever “living” means to you, do it. Don’t just get by. Live. Life’s short.

To my family, especially JS & ZS, though I’m miles away, I am thinking of you all so much. I hope this post was OK for me to share. Love you.

Up soon in the blog roll: Safari Sunday! Stay tuned. 

Categories: Other | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “One, two, three.

  1. mary ann petratis

    Darling Daughter you’re definitely an inspiration to all of us too! Aunt Marlene is an awesome woman, she taught all her nieces and nephews a lot about life, love and laughter! It’s so sad to have to deal with this in our life….I love you, MOM

  2. Right on, Megs! Sending lots of love and prayers to your family. Both my grandfather and my uncle passed away of multiple myeloma, so I can relate to what you’re family is dealing with. It sucks. But if I know anything about you and your fam – it’s how stong and inspired you all are – remembering the good times and taking the life lessons with you wherever you go!

  3. Kurt Schneckloth

    Preach on sister!! Sorry to hear about your aunt and how Myeloma has affected you guys. Keep your chin up!

  4. Pingback: Hunt. Heaven. Hike. | So(ul) Happy

  5. Pingback: Hunt. Heaven. Hike. | So(ul) Happy

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.